L’chaim!

As I’ve said my goodbyes to many of you we have often made a toast to many good times in Buenos Aires, my safety, the journeys life will take me on in South America and elsewhere. I do not claim to know all the different ways to toast someone, but I do know that of the several I do know my favorite will probably always be, “L’chaim!” To life. Not to health, wealth, or a mere “Cheers,” but to LIFE. And that is all that needs to be said.

I sit here in the airport terminal at George Bush International in Houston, Texas, and nerves are getting worse by the minute. That bottomless pit in my stomach is more nagging and I keep looking around to see who is joining me on this flight hoping to find someone else in the same boat I am. No such luck so far, but the prospect of being in an entirely new city in a little over twelve hours is becoming more exhilarating. I still don’t believe this is really happening and I’m about to spend the next six months of my life in on another continent from my family and friends. I’ve wanted this for so long and it is exactly what I need this semester since Georgia State and Atlanta were starting to burn me out.

I’m trying to get used to the feeling of an airplane taking off and landing, wandering around an airport terminal by yourself, and occupying my time with writing and reading as I wait on my next flight because I want a job that allows me to travel pretty frequently. I’m not sure how–or even if–one ever gets used to saying goodbye to good friends and a good life, or constantly picking up and resetting down roots in different places, but I know that I have thoroughly enjoyed every trip I have taken in the past few years because I have made wonderful new friends and learned things about myself that I wouldn’t have discovered elsewhere.

The rewards of the journey far outweigh the risk of leaving the harbor.

– Unknown

I’m not sure how much more time I’ll have to post over the next few days or weeks, or even how often I’ll have Internet access but I promise to keep writing in my journal and transcribing bits and pieces here when I get the chance.

Leave a Reply

